Wide gender gap persists in the Nobel Prize

Wide gender gap persists in the Nobel Prize

Men clearly outrun women when it comes to Nobel Prize achievements since its foundation in 1901.

Women have been ignored by the Nobel Prices.

According to the Nobel Foundation, out of the 925 prices given since 1901, only 49 have been for women.

Marie Curie, who has been honored twice, was the first woman to be awarded in 1903 (Physics Prize), followed by Bertha von Suttner who was awarded in 1905 (Peace Prize).

In 2009, five women were awarded, making that year the year where most women were awarded.

On October 2nd, for the first time in some 55 years, a woman was warded the Nobel prize in the physics category.

It was given to Donna Strickland, professor and research scientist at the University of Waterloo in Ontario, who shares her Nobel and the $1 million dollar prize with two other scientists for their work with lasers.

Strickland is only the third woman to become Nobel physics laureate after Marie Curie in 1903 and Maria Goeppert Mayer in 1963.

Here are the 48 women that changed the world and were awarded for it.


About the Author:

Olivia Toledo
error: Content is protected !!